top of page
  • Blanca Fdez

Wear Red

Updated: May 28, 2019

It is not a coincidence that my instagram account is called Red_Lullaby. I have always had a love for the colour red when it came to my clothes. But, you see, growing up in Spain wearing red was always discouraged. We were told, many a times, that wearing red was not appropriate; unless you are going to a wedding. On a day to day basis, it signals that the wearer was confrontational person, and a bit of a trouble maker. Also a little bit narcissistic as the wearer is drawing attention to oneself. Wearing the colour red was to be avoided.


Not only on clothing, but if one was ever interviewed for a job or a position of responsibility, if ever asked what is your favorite color, red was the one that you never mentioned, as it could signal (according to psychologist) that person was too strong willed, and might be problematic with a propensity to creating drama. And then, there is that little holiday in February called St Valentine's Day, it is considered cheesy and a little corny to wear red on the day. So, I would only wear red on sociability acceptable occasions, like a wedding or a black tie event, so as not to be seen as some one with far too strong character and get a reputation from being difficult. How ridiculous is that!? Were did it come from? and why do we believe it?


But then I moved to Ireland for a few months (that turn into years, but that is another story), and I found myself in a country where those ideas did not exist. Were there is much more freedom when it comes to dressing yourself; where everything goes. I found that to be so refreshing. Clothing is more than just pieces of fabric to cover our bodies. Let's be honest, there is a billion euro industry around it! But the way we express ourselves and how we present ourselves to the world is important and it is done via our choice of clothes. Whether we feel the need to belong (as most teenagers do, wearing practically an uniform of copycat clothes, MODs or even rockabilly) or express our own individuality, or a profession.


So I ignored all those reason why I should not be wearing red and instead, I listen to all the reasons why I should. For me red is a colour that makes me feel good about myself. I found it warm, elegant, different and sometimes sexy. Also it remind me of home, as red is the national colour of Spain. When you are an emigrant, the pull of your country will always be there. Wearing red made me, somehow, connected to my Spanish roots, no matter where I ended up in the world.


It has become my signature colour without intending it to be. I guess, when I want to feel comfortable in a situation where I am not, I wear red. When I am happy, I wear red, when I need to feel sexy, I wear red, and most definitely, when I want to stand out.... I read red. I just love it.



As Anna Winter once said, "create your own style.... let it be unique for yourself and yet identifiable for others".


So my advice is, don't let others dictate what you should wear. Your creativity, individuality and personality is reflected in your choices, which includes your clothes.....so be brave and wear it with confidence; whether is texture upon texture, loud colours that makes you feel like sunshine in a cloudy day, dress all in black, or your style is slouchy but with strong architectural lines.......whatever it may be, be brave, be bold and above all, BE un-apologetically you. Wear RED.

23 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page